…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Summer garden time!

2 Comments


It’s the time of year when our little minds turn into vegetables. No, that’s not right! Our minds don’t turn into vegetables, they turn to vegetables! Argh! What am I trying to say?

That’s right. What I actually mean is, it’s planting time! We planted our potatoes, onions, garlic and lettuce about a month ago. They are going great guns, as are the weeds that threaten to take over the world! A day of weeding is in our very near future, not my favourite thing!

vegetables

Looking forward to summer harvests!

Last week, we planted our squash (three varieties), tomatoes (four varieties), cucumbers, peppers (three varieties), aubergines and melons (two varieties). Soon to come is the planting of sweet corn and okra – should have been done already, but between trips to the hospital (chemo, other tests) and the dentist, I feel we are doing very well to get as much done as we have.

It’s very hard this year to motivate myself to do the work (Kenton feels the same, I’m sure), but it’s such a key part of our life here that I can’t imagine not having a big garden, no matter how exhausted I feel all the time! Come July, when we are picking our first tomatoes, I know it will have been worth the effort.

I think it’s going to be a hard growing year. We have had loads of misty evenings, which wreak havoc on the potatoes and tomatoes, as well as anything other vegetable or fruit that suffers from mildew or blight. It is sometimes hard to stick to our ‘no toxic sprays’ mantra, but at least that means we are always able to pick a tomato straight from the vine and eat it! Not all our neighbours can say that!

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

2 thoughts on “Summer garden time!

  1. I always envy your vegetables! I had to give up on tomatoes because they had blight every year, and I spent too much time babying them and spraying with the organic soap-type spray. I can get fresh local tomatoes at the farmer’s market for a dollar.

    Like

    • Yes, blight can be hard to deal with! We spray ours weekly with a neem oil mix, but if you can buy good tomatoes that cheaply, probably not worth it! It is so disheartening to have a crop failure!

      Like