…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Two little girls at Christmas


I always get all sentimental at Christmas time. OK, maybe it’s not just Christmas time, but it certainly worse this time of year! Even watching old Christmas movies can bring a tear to my eye these days.

Today, the last ‘normal’ day before Christmas, took me back to my childhood. I remember so clearly laying on the floor in our living room with my older sister Susan. We would lay there and just look at the Christmas tree, lights sparkling off the tinsel (always loads of tinsel, of course!). The excitement was almost unbearable.

The Larson girls

The Larson girls

I found a picture of my sister and me in our Christmas pinafores (they were almost too small for us by the time the photo was taken, but wow, did we love those pinafores!). My mother made them for us out of red felt, and hand sewed decorations onto them. In fact, she made a lot of our clothes. She also made loads of Christmas cookies – she even made the ever-so-time-consuming rollout sugar cookies, that we children frosted and decorated. How did she find time to do that, with a house, husband and 5 children to take care of?

She was incredible, and I still look up to her so much. This photo is for you, Mom.

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

Comments are closed.