…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Still crazy

2 Comments


Thank goodness, still crazy after all these years!

The years pass, we all get older. But to me, if you can retain the passion for life that you had as a youngster, you will never truly get old. You can’t help the ageing of your body, but you can sure prevent the ageing of your spirit and mind!

I still love dancing around the kitchen as I cook, although my husband points out that my dancing style leaves something to be desired.

The dancing bug hit early in life

The dancing bug hit early in life. I’m the one on the right!

I love crunching through autumn leaves, and sitting with the sun on my back on a winter’s day. I love the smell of spring rain, and the sadness and beauty of autumn leaves. I especially love trudging through fresh snow with the boxer dogs!

Some passions have morphed over the years, to include the joy of raising our own food. There is nothing like picking the fruit of your hard labour, or biting into a fresh-picked cherry tomato, knowing you can eat it without washing, without consuming pesticides and herbicides.

I still love to cook and bake, although the passion has moved to making breads of all kinds. I love to have bread baking in the oven when my husband is on his way home from errands – nothing says “home” like fresh-baked bread!

We all know people who are old before their times. Not for them is looking silly or stupid – oh no, life is far too serious for that! But to me, we are here for a very short time, really – and when it’s gone, it’s gone, no second chances. So I decided early on that I didn’t want to get to my last days, only to regret what should have been.

No “if only…” for me! I’ll be the one laughing at one last joke, and planning on who to haunt when I’m gone.

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

2 thoughts on “Still crazy

  1. I like to think of us enjoying our jamón and manzanilla while they self-righteously chew on their quinoa and kale. We’ll be the ones with the “laugh lines”, and probably dodgy livers, but we’ll have lived and enjoyed ourselves.

    Like

  2. Wonderful attitude! Agree with you on the homemade bread. How fun it would be to see you dancing in the kitchen, while stirring your bread dough. Sweet picture of you and Sue. xo Diane

    Like