…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Spring has sprung

2 Comments


Well, it must have ‘sprung’ somewhere, but certainly not here in southern Spain! As I write this, I’m sitting in my (unheated) office, my fingers stiff, my feet cold.

They're called sunflowers, so where is the sun?

They’re called sunflowers, so where is the sun?

Moan, moan, moan. I know, even I am getting tired of my moaning about the weather! I spoke to a friend in the village this morning, and we were both at it. Walls are damp and need repair, everything needs painting, and you can’t even think about doing these jobs until the walls dry out. When will that be, we ask. June? July? Just in time for the autumn rains? Right now, we can’t even imagine the weather being warm.

Of course, my brother in Minnesota tells me off for complaining about the cold, as their temps are well below zero! Hey, people with central heating, don’t talk to me about cold!

And don’t even talk to me about my potatoes! They sit calmly in the greenhouse, quietly chitting away, with the soil still too wet and cold to rotovate, much less plant. We are a month past our usual planting time, and it is seriously stressing me out! Growing potatoes, onions and garlic are the absolute essentials for any campo person worth their salt, and none of ours have been planted yet! Now that’s stress!

We long for the bright sunshine, to have the sun warm our backs while we’re working. We know that come July, we will be hiding from the powerful heat of the sun, but for now? Come on, sun, do your stuff.

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

2 thoughts on “Spring has sprung

  1. No spring here in Massachusetts either.

    Like

    • Hi Joseph, thanks for posting! From what I heard, it’s been the same everywhere, a rough winter and a very late spring! Let’s hope we all have a good summer!

      Like