…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Off to Blighty


I’m off for a quick tour of grandmother duty today! Kenton and I were due to make the trip together, but our dog fell very ill, so one of stayed behind to help him through recovery.

Matilda

Matilda in a very good mood! (photo by kenton@imagenary.co.uk)

So now, it’s my turn to go! I plan on spending a lot of time cuddling, playing, and reading to little Matilda. I think our daughter Peggy has in mind a lot of me cooking and baking! It seems to now be tradition that we do all the cooking while there, and I also try to put a few meals in the freezer for them. It’s hard to cook proper dinners with a young baby, because as luck would have it, that is always their fussy time! Why is that, I wonder?

Also while I’m there, I’m working a couple of days with some former colleagues of mine. They have set up their own company, SimpleClick, and one of the directors is going on maternity leave. It works out well for both sides for me to cover for her. I know their software systems, and know the 3 directors quite well – plus, my time is very flexible so they don’t have to hire someone full-time to cover her maternity leave. So next week is handover time, and I imagine my brain will be swimming by the end of it!

I’ve left Kenton with a small chores list, as usual. Idle hands are the devil’s playthings, as they say!

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

Comments are closed.