…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

The kindness of strangers


Living in a small community is so different to living in cities. There are certainly advantages and disadvantages to both; for example, there are not the cultural/entertainment opportunities here that there are in cities, that’s for sure!

It is certainly impossible to remain anonymous in a small community. Here in Yunquera, you can be sure that someone always has their eye on you, which is both good and bad! Many is the time that as I walk through town, someone stops me to tell me where Kenton is, and what he has been buying. Handy.

I like that, although I think that I would have been less keen when I was a teenager! Our village in the UK, East Bergholt, was very much the same as Yunquera in that regard. As a teen, our daughter felt she could really cut up something fierce, while all the time our circle of friends kept an eye on her. It was great.

To my mind, the best thing about living in a small town is the sense of community. People really and truly do care for each other, whether you are family, friend or stranger. I don’t know if all villages are like that, but Yunquera certainly is.

I use as my example a chap in the village who is experiencing very hard times right now. He doesn’t know many people, other than to say hello to, but everyone chips in to help him through his bad times. He is left food, wood, clothes, shoes, everything. They don’t ask for thanks, they just leave a bag of whatever on his gate, to save him any potential embarrassment. It amazes and humbles me, and teaches me to do the same by helping others whenever we can.

And on that note, I’ll pass on my version of huevos rancheros, a dish that is simple, tasty and cheap.

Mmm...huevos rancheros

Mmm…huevos rancheros (Photo credit: jeffreyw)

Huevos Rancheros Casa Tyr style

Pinto beans, cooked until soft, then mashed fairly smooth
Salsa, made from heating a jar of home-canned tomato puree mixed with chopped chillies, salt and pepper
1 egg per person
flour tortillas
grated cheese (edam or cheddar is best)
chopped onion

Briefly heat 1-2 tortillas per person. Put the tortilla flat on the plate, then spread some of the pinto bean mix on top. (Note: dried pinto beans are cheap and filling, so very economical)

Top with a fried egg, then spoon hot salsa over the top of the egg. Add some chopped onion, then finish with some grated cheese, and eat immediately.

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

Comments are closed.