…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Grandma Larson’s in love…

2 Comments


 

Most of my friends already know that for the past week, I was in the UK visiting my daughter and her family. There is a new baby in the family, Matilda, and I just had to go see her!

Even my cynical old bones were totally won over by this little mite. It goes (almost) without saying that she is the most beautiful and intelligent grandchild ever, of course! But more than that, she is almost always even-tempered and good-natured. She has a temper, though – just delay her feeding by a few minutes, and you are treated to a temper tantrum of fierce proportions! (I like that, actually – my pediatrician of years ago said that strong-tempered babies make the most interesting adults!)

Ann and Matilda meet for the first time (photo by Maggs)

I seemed to spend most of the week cuddling wee Matilda. Either that, or I was coddling my own daughter, to try to ease her burden for a short while. Ask her about the cinnamon rolls, and she may even agree with me!

One short week later, and I was on my way home. There were tears, you can believe that. It brought home to me how my own mother must have felt, as she lived in the US, and her granddaughter lived in England. I never really appreciated how hard that must have been for her, until now. I’m sorry I didn’t realise it before, Mom.

Living apart is made easier these days with Skype calls, Facebook updates, mobile photos, and so on – but there is nothing so precious as holding that warm bundle, or as beautiful as seeing my daughter nurse her baby daughter. You can’t get that feeling from a tweet.

 

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

2 thoughts on “Grandma Larson’s in love…

  1. Awww, that’s so lovely Ann.

    Like