…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Some like it hot

2 Comments


 

It seems to me that many parts of the world are having very hot, dry summers, and Andalucia is no exception. We have had several spells of extremely hot days, the hottest of which has just ended.

Don’t get me wrong – I do know you have to expect hot summers in southern Spain! I usually cope quite well with hot days, and much prefer them to chilly winter days. Almost always, that is. The past few days have been so incredibly hot that even I felt the need to complain. To everyone!

Even on our mountain, which usually benefits from a cooling breeze, it was well over 40 degrees Centigrade. 40 degrees C is 104 F, so even my American readers will think that’s hot, I believe! One day, it was 42 here (107F), so goodness knows what it was like in the village. It was all compounded by the fact that it was a bit hazy and overcast, most unlike an Andalucian summer day!

I really complained too early though, because I heard from a friend in Seville that it was 51C there – that’s a whopping 123F, and most buildings aren’t air-conditioned, either. She was so brave that day, still getting out in it to take people around on tapas tours (who can eat when it’s that hot!?). What fortitude.

The local feria was held  in Yunquera over the weekend – and do you think the Spaniards stopped partying just because of sweltering temperatures? No way! Every day I could hear the band start up, the singers start to sing, and could imagine the couples dancing the night away (who can dance when it’s that hot!?). What courage! For one weekend, the village forgot all about the ‘crisis’ and just got on with having a good time.

 

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

2 thoughts on “Some like it hot

  1. Tapas tours in that kind of heat consist of going from one air-conditioned bar to another. I can’t understand how people can sit *outside* and eat when it’s that hot.

    Like

    • Thanks for posting! I was relieved to hear you say that, quite frankly – I had visions of you being all heroic and eating tapas outside in that heat! 🙂

      Like