…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

El Koala visits Yunquera


We had a very late night last Saturday night in Yunquera. I should be used to these by now, because many of the interesting concerts and events don’t even start until midnight! (One concert didn’t even start until 2:30am – this one I was not brave enough to stay up for, but husband Kenton did his photography thing, so at least I could review the photos!)

Spain is famous for its late night life in the summertime. For example, in the depths of summer, it is too hot to even think about eating until the sun is down, and most of the restaurants don’t start serving until 10:30. And even by Spanish standards, Andalucia is even more fond of its late nights!

Even though we’ve lived here for almost 10 years, I’m still not used to it. I don’t have a problem not going out for my Saturday night until 9pm or so, but waiting until midnight is a step too far for me, usually.

Bravely, though, I made it to hear “El Koala” last weekend. I enjoy live music, and he had never visited the town, or at least not in my memory. He is quite famous in this part of Spain, so it was definitely in my plans to ‘go for it’ that night.

So, we first had dinner at our favourite restaurant – the ‘Miguelin y Miguel’ in Yunquera. Juanjo (the owner) had recently been to the north of Spain, so was trying out a “pinchos” menu – we feasted on little bits and pieces, all around a euro each. My favourite? A slice of “carne mechada” and a grilled green pepper served in a small walnut roll. Delicious.

Then, stomachs pleasantly full, we went on to the concert. Unusually by Yunquera standards, it started almost on time (12:30), and El Koala put on a great show. His style is “rustic rock”, and he talks a lot about the haves/have nots in rural Spain, as well as the hard, yet satisfying life in the campo.

Judge for yourself!

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

Comments are closed.