…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Annie weeding

Oh, my aching back!


It’s that time of year! We turn the calendar to yet another month, and the weather finally cooperates by showing a bit of springtime warmth. We’ve waited for it, and have had several false starts, but now it is finally here – spring!

With spring comes a multitude of chores here at Casa Tyr. Planting. Weeding (omg, the weeding!). Strimming, trimming. All to start off the warm weather in time to tidy up the gardens before we start our bout of entertaining! (we only entertain in the summer up on our mountain, because it’s much more pleasant here than in town during the hot weather!)

Fresh asparagus

Casa Tyr asparagus (photo Kent@imagenary.co.uk)

Let’s go back to that weeding thing. It’s the bane of my existence! I know, I know – the price we pay for lovely fertilized gardens is also…lovel, fertilized weeds! I’ve already spent 2 different days weeding the brassicas and seedlings. 2 days weeding the potatoes. 3 times weeding the asparagus bed.

And yesterday? We spent all afternoon weeding and clearing out the back veggie and herb garden. The lavender is in a sad state. Two of my big lavenders were badly hit by our hard frost, so I had to cut them back to within an inch of their lives. Hopefully with some sun and tlc, they will be back to their full glory come summertime.

For some reason, this garden was absolutely full of stinging nettles. I first encountered these in England, but the little blighters are even worse here – the sting in the nettle lasts for ages, and your skin feels like it’s on fire! You only have to do that once before you wear long sleeves to weed! (and yes, I know you can collect the nettles for soup etc, but no thank you!)

I also close weeded around the various cacti and aloe vera plants in the back.This is tricky work, to be done only with gloves, or you soon end up with your hands full of cactus spikes!

Today I could look out at the garden and enjoy all our hard work. The lavenders, mint, borage and so on thank me, but my back certainly does not!

Annie weeding

Weeding around the lavender, borage and tarragon (photo by Kenton@imagenary.co.uk)

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

Comments are closed.