…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

In which Ann gets a green thumb


I was ‘green thumbing’ it most of last week, one of my very favourite chores.

Broad beans, shelled and steamed

Image via Wikipedia

It’s the time of year for the first of the big planting in the vegetable garden, so after Kenton rotovated and dug the rows, I planted the seeds. Carrots, green beans (2 types), peas and broad beans (aka fava beans) were planted in our big garden by our big well.

The next day, I planted the first of the herbs, wild rocket and coriander. These were planted on our front terrace in pots, easier for watering and use in the kitchen. I also weeded the front herb garden and cleared out the front flower beds, as I lost all my geraniums in the hard freeze this winter.

I love these tasks. Yes, it’s hard work to weed and plant – by the end of the day, my back is killing me, and my fingers are sore from plucking out weeds. My brothers and sisters will laugh at the thought of me weeding – as a child, my method of weeding was to cut off the tops so my mother couldn’t see them! (She did, of course, and made me go out again and dig out the stubby weeds! A lesson learned – it’s easier to do it right the first time!)

It is such a fulfilling thing to plant vegetables. As long as you tend them properly, you can rest easy in the knowledge that, no matter how hard a year it might be (you never really can know), you can still eat healthily and well on your fresh produce. You can help friends in need by sharing the bounty with them.

These are thoughts that never would have occurred to me during the years of working in an office, and flying hither and yon on business.

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

Comments are closed.