…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

The smells of childhood


Today, we’ve had our first real blast of autumn weather. For the past month, it has been unseasonably warm and dry, which the old guys in the village bemoan, but we love. The rains always come, we know they will again this year, but to delay it by a couple of weeks in favour of an Indian summer? Bliss.

So today came as a shock. Highs of only 12 C (mid 50’s to my US readers), which is over 20 degrees colder than yesterday. Plus, by the time we rolled out of bed for breakfast, it was already raining. Sheets of the stuff.

What does one do when confronted with such a hideous day? Bake cookies, of course! I decided on chocolate chip cookies, subbing 3/4 c oatmeal for some of the flour, just because I like to.

The smell of the cookies baking took me straight back to my childhood. When we were small, my mother used to bake 2 kinds of cookies every week. (How she ever managed to do all she did with 5 children under her feet, I’ll never know, but will always admire.)

The smell of the cookies, and the memories of my mom, was a terrific way to warm my heart on a dismal day.

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

Comments are closed.