…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Disquieting events

2 Comments


Disquieting:

causing anxiety or uneasiness; disturbing, as in “disquieting news”

That definition fits recent events. When meandering around the local supermarket, one of the ladies who works there tells me that her uncle had died. Why tell me this news? Well, her uncle was a good friend of ours, a man who, when we first moved to Yunquera, helped us with local customs. (e.g. when you go out for a beer, you must stop at several of the bars, to give each one some of your custom. It’s considered rude to spend all your money in one place). He always had the latest gossip, which he and I used to giggle over, especially if he could find something a bit risque to say!

We’d also enjoy a big of a ‘tut tut’ over a woman we both know who he would describe as “no le gusta trabajar, es muy señorita” (she doesn’t like working, she’s too high and mighty). It’s a real insult in this village to be known as someone who doesn’t like to work!

He wasn’t married, and always asked me if I knew of any single ladies that might like him. (“just for companionship”, he would hasten to add, although I had my doubts!) He even talked to me about internet dating, pretty modern for a guy in his 60’s. He was lonely, and wanted someone to share his retirement with.

So I was shocked and saddened to hear he had died. You get used to it somewhat, as many of our friends here are older guys (no one under 60 besides the two of us seems to farm anymore). And many of the older generation had very deprived childhoods, during what our friend calls “the hungry years”. Until relatively recently, regular dental and medical care was not readily available in the inland villages, either.

But no matter how much I can justify his untimely passing, one fact remains. We’re one friend down, and that makes me sad.

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

2 thoughts on “Disquieting events

  1. I’m so sorry for your loss.

    Like