…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Inspiring your kids

2 Comments


Today, I was reading the blog of a lady who runs a business in the US. We have never met, but share business interests, so have exchanged occasional emails, blog comments, and so on. She is one of the most cheerful, upbeat women I have ever “met” !!

In her blog today, she makes the point that she is often asked how she ever had the b**ls to start her own business. A good question!

It reminded me so much of a few years ago, when I gave a talk to the people at my mother’s retirement complex, entitled “A Sioux Falls Girl in Spain”. It was all about my life since leaving the US, then talked about giving it all up to move to Spain to farm olives, through to starting our company Lujos.

One of the questions from the audience was “What gave you the confidence to try this, something so different, and that you’d never done before?” Another good question!

My answer was the same as Anne-Marie’s. It was down to my parents. They infused me with the confidence to tackle new things. They always told me that, given hard work, there was nothing I couldn’t do in life. There was nothing worse in my family than giving up.

I believed my parents when they told me that, and here I am today, proof that they were right. They never promised a smooth or easy path, and it has, indeed, been jolly hard work, but I guess that was in the small print!

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

2 thoughts on “Inspiring your kids

  1. Liked your “inspiring your kids” post! I remember your mother talking about your talk at Trail Ridge and hearing how much the residents enjoyed it.

    Hope your knee continues to feel better.

    xo Diane

    Like

    • Thanks for the post, Diane! I really enjoyed sharing our story with the group there, and mom certainly deserved all the kudos for the inspiration!

      Like