…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Annoyances

4 Comments


I’m feeling annoyed today, so I thought I’d share that with you. What? You say you have enough annoyances of your own, and don’t want to hear mine? Well, tough! I’m not usually annoyed, I am a fairly sunny person, so I deserve to unload on everyone else once in awhile, right?

There are quite a few things that annoy me. Admittedly, they don’t all happen at once (whew!).

  1. Too many rainy days in a row (too many = more than 2). One rainy day is lovely and relaxing, any more than that is just annoying. Especially when you live in southern Spain!
  2. Wasting time. Sometimes wasting time is nice, but a whole life of it? What is the point of that.
  3. People who don’t do what they say, or say they will do something and then don’t. ‘Nuff said.
  4. Politicians. They all lie, and it bugs me. A lot.
  5. Bombing one country while another country with similar dictatorial policies is not so much as criticized. You know who I mean, and you know why it’s done.
  6. The changing face of education. It used to be that we went to school to learn, to question and to be challenged to think for ourselves. Now it’s about lectures and memorizing. I don’t know if this is now true in the US (where I believe I received a wonderful education), but it is certainly true in the UK.
  7. Bad grammar and vocabulary. See above.

I could go on, but it would just sound like complaining. So I’ll just stay annoyed instead!

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

4 thoughts on “Annoyances

  1. Oh Ann, you make me laugh! You have just made my day! xxxx

    Like

  2. I think when I went to grammar school (1952-1959) and Uni (1959-1962) education was ALL about memorising – eg I knew the Pythagorus theorem but it was not until Dr Bronowski illustrated it in his TV series, many years later, that I REALISED what it meant! I had one friend who got a 2.1 in physics by memorising the whole of the lecture notes – each question in the exams had a theoretical and a practical part – he only did the theoretical part – he went on to be ? A teacher of physics -QED!

    Like

    • Hello there, and welcome to my blog! Thanks for posting. I have to agree that much of education has always been about memorising. But (it seems to me) these days, at least in the UK there is no room for researching questions or for teachers to answer questions. That is an important part of “feeding” enquiring minds, imho. Memorising is dull, and you aren’t learning when you do it, it’s just a list of facts, as you say!

      Like