…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Reminders of my father

2 Comments


We’re having leftovers tonight. Why does that remind me of my father, you ask? Well, it’s easy. My dad used to love it when there was some Sunday roast beef left over, because my mother would chop it up with the leftover potatoes and veg, then mix the gravy in to make a luscious dinner.

We make this same dish today – we call it “CR style” dinner in honor of my dad, whose initials were CR. It’s one of my favorite meals, too – and we always cook extra just to ensure we have enough beef and vegetables left over for this dish!

There are other reminders, too – sometimes they were things that stuck in my mind because I thought they were funny. Like when you come home from work and put on your comfortable clothes for relaxing and watching TV – my dad always called these his “cozies”, and we do the same. A great description.

Sometimes the reminders are misunderstandings from my childhood. When my dad talked about “Pontiac” cars, I thought he said “Pottiac”. I thought they were so-called because they had toilets (aka “potties”) in the back of the car. (I obviously thought this was a terrific idea, having to always fight for bathroom rights with my 4 siblings!) Forever after that, our family called that brand “Pottiacs”.

It gives me great pleasure to use the same phrases and descriptions as my father, and to pass one of his favorite recipes to my own daughter. In this way, he lives on in her memory, just like he does in mine.

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

2 thoughts on “Reminders of my father

  1. I remember “cozies” as pajamas. Of course that might be because I was the last of 6 kids, and probably Dad went right to pajamas when he changed by the time I came around!

    Here is another memory from Dad: Kreml.. I just read a book set in the 1940s and it talked about Kreml shampoo and how new and special it was, and I thought, ‘Oh, I thought that Kreml was just the old fashioned hair tonic that my father used!’

    Like

    • I had totally forgotten about Kreml! I only remember it as a hair tonic he used, too. Also remember the “Old Spice” after shave? I can never smell that without thinking of Dad.

      Like