…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

By jove, she’s got it!

2 Comments


And oh yes, I do!

You’ll want to know what I’m talking about, right? Well – remember that way back in August I was talking about making a new Lujos shampoo? And I was experimenting with the formulation?

Well, I’ve been messing around with the formulation for months now. A little more of this, a little less of that. Adding and subtracting ingredients, trying to come up with a shampoo that would be good enough for my great Lujos customers.

Well, I have been using the shampoo for a couple of weeks now, checking to make sure that there is no build up or other nasty effects. I have incredibly fine, and rather thin hair, that is a nightmare for most shampoos. So I figured if a shampoo was good for my hair, it would suit most other hair, too!

Next, I had my husband try it. He has very very short hair, but thick with a tendency towards greasiness – another tough customer! (I’m glad he doesn’t mind being a guinea pig!)

So I know you’re waiting with bated breath for the result, right? We both love it!
It cleans the hair gently, lathers well, smooths out the snarls and leaves the hair lightly conditioned. Plus, it does not contain SLS, so my hair stopped falling out. And, of course, it smells great!

Now all I need to do is get the formulation certified by a chemist (EU law) and tested by some of my customers, and then we’re ready to rock ‘n roll!

 

New Lujos shampoo! (design by Kenton@imagenary.co.uk)

 

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

2 thoughts on “By jove, she’s got it!

  1. What’s SLS?

    Like

    • SLS is Sodium Lauryl Sulphate. It is a rather harsh detergent, which has been added to most of the big commercial shampoos. It is not there because it is great for your hair, it is there because it’s cheap, and makes loads of lather. (lather does not equal cleaning, by the way)

      There are loads of scare stories around about it. I was given a really expensive shampoo as a gift – only to find SLS the 2nd main ingredient after water! It started making my hair fall out big time, which is why I started making my own natural shampoo!

      In short, you can have a really nice shampoo that gives you shiny hair, without all the nasty stuff in it!

      Like