…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

That old time religion

3 Comments


I don’t normally talk about religion on my blog, but today I will. In a general way, anyway!

It’s not going to be a rant against Hindu, Buddhist, Christian, Jewish, Muslim or any other believers. If you believe, I’m happy for you. Just don’t bend my ear about it.

I have been having what we laughingly call serious Facebook conversations this week. I say “laughingly” because, of course, FB is not a good forum for real conversations, is it? The only positive thing I can say about it is that at least you can’t punch someone in the nose if you disagree violently with them! 🙂 Anyway, these conversations have mostly been about the problems over the last few years with differences of opinion between those of different religious persuasions.

I can’t understand it. When I think of the 3 biggies that are in print most of the time, aren’t they pretty much the same in many, many ways? Do they not have the same basic book that they use as their rule book? So what’s the big deal? I don’t know.

Don’t these ancient books tell us to get along? To be understanding and to forgive differences? To not kill each other? Well, don’t they? So what the heck are we doing?

I think if we really took time to think about it, we, the ordinary joes in the world, have more things in common than things that separate us. But I despair, as there seems to be very little interest on any side to really sit down and solve the problems.

So in the meantime, let’s talk about it between ourselves, as friends. Maybe if we start in little ways like that, eventually we’ll convince all our leaders to do the same. To stop getting so hot and bothered, and to calm down and talk.

Peace, friends!

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

3 thoughts on “That old time religion

  1. I steer completely away from serious religious conversations because they often bring on conflict. Life is busy enough for me (many of us) without it.

    I’ll add a few things here though.

    There is a passage in the bible, that says something like, “There is nothing new under the sun.” I love those words. Nothing ever really changes, no-matter how modern the world gets. However, as sophisticated as we do get, the further apart it seems we spread (as you indicated, some of it is based on religious differences). The differences have been there since the beginning of time. I think now, it appears to happen on a much grander scale, with it being more out in the open due to instant media.

    That’s my take. I’ll continue on with my day from here! Enjoy yours!

    Like

    • I agree with you, Mary. I just don’t understand why it is so hard for people to get along. If we just ‘cut each other some slack’, as they say, I think we’d realize that everyone wants the same things from life – shelter, enough for their family to eat, etc. I think we’re whipped up by our politicians and the media, for sure.

      Like