…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Autumn, it’s a’ comin’

2 Comments


You can feel a real change to the weather here in sunny Spain.

Yes, the sky is still a gorgeous blue. Yes, it’s still sunny and warm. But the mornings have that little bit of chill to the air, as do the evenings. I feel almost tempted to wear long trousers in the evenings rather than shorts.

It’s also getting dark noticeably earlier in the evening. Instead of staying light until 9:30, the sun is starting to set at 8:30 or so.

Ah, the end of summer. It is such a nostalgic feeling. I love the heat of summer, but those cooler afternoons means that preserving is not the torture it is on a sultry summer day. (it’s hard to feel motivated to turn on the oven in 40 degree (104 F) weather!)

But I am not ready for autumn, I cry! We had such a horrific winter last year, that I feel I need 6 months of summer to make up for it!

Well, folks, that’s just not going to happen. I can lament the end of summer all I like, but it’s to no avail. The weather will do what it wills, regardless of my wishes – but oh man, I hope we’re lucky enough to have a loooonnngggg autumn!

Cheat's sun-dried tomatoes

Drying the last of the summer's tomatoes (photo by Kenton@imagenary.co.uk)

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

2 thoughts on “Autumn, it’s a’ comin’

  1. I am definitely not ready either. I really hate when the days start to get shorter. I like to walk the dog late, with the sun still shining and the weather warm enough for shorts. Maybe I should move to Florida, you say?

    Plus I am worried that we will have an early winter. All of the autumn harvest (like apples) is 2-3 weeks early here, and the squirrels are very busy now too (early). I think they know more than we do.

    Like