…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Just another Wednesday at Casa Tyr!


It’s been a bit of a mixed day today! I knew it would be, as I had an appointment at Ana Maria’s salon for an eyebrow and eyelash tint. Whyever do I do that, you ask? Well, I’m pretty pale, with pale lashes and brows, and that can make me look a bit washed out at times. And it also means that I don’t have to wear mascara when we go out. (I know, I know, I don’t have to wear mascara, but sometimes it’s nice to look a bit girly!)

So off I went to town. The salon is near the post office, which means you have to run the gauntlet that is Yunquera at 10:30 in the morning.

First, I see Manuel Fonda and our friend Manuel Lopez. (And no, I’m not going to tell you again why he’s called Manuel “Fonda”, you’ll just have to browse through back issues of my blog to find out!) I have to go over to say hello, as it’s considered the height of rudeness not to chat to your friends.

The conversation goes like this. “Where’s Kenton?”, they wonder. “He’s in bed”. They look doubtful, then Manuel informs us that that can’t be right, because  Kenton gets up at 8:30. Well, ok, I say, he’s actually gardening. (he was actually in front of the computer, but we campo guys lose credibility with that excuse!) I ask Manuel why he’s not out in the campo, working. Because he has worked a lot lately, and doesn’t want to today, he says. Manuel F says that Manuel Lopez is “fatigued” – when actually, the evidence of his bloodshot eyes suggests he might be a tad hungover!

I move on to the post office, where, of course, there is a queue. We in the queue agree that Paco has had too long a vacation, but we are very glad to see normal service resumed now. Have my special Lujos boxes arrive, I ask? No, they haven’t even been ordered yet, says Paco. No surprise there, then!

On to the salon. An eyelash and brow tint that used to take 20 minutes in the UK takes 2 hours here. It’s true – but then, Ana Maria does every task one at a time, and gives each customer personal attention. You really get your money’s worth! While I’m there, we talk about her dog (it’s had puppies), her next vacation (Limoges), our respective tomato crops (mine, good; hers, bad), and her children (and mine). When she’s finished with me, she holds up the mirror, with a satisfied look – I finally have expression, she says!

At long last I leave, and run into Pedro, our former landlord. We rented a flat from him while we built our house, and got to know him quite well. He’s a charming fellow, if a bit odd at times! I ask him how he is, and he says he’s all the better for having run into such a lovely young woman (he meant me, readers!). How utterly charming.

So I’m finished now, and head home, exhausted!

And, oh, by the way – we collected our year’s worth of wild chamomile today, so I did manage to do a little bit of Lujos today, too!

Wild chamomile for Lujos

Collecting wild chamomile (photo by Kenton@imagenary.co.uk)

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

Comments are closed.