…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

It makes you think…


We all leave pretty busy lives, I know. And sometimes we get so caught up in the machinations of daily life that we don’t take time to smell the roses, as they say.

For example, blogging is one of my ways of keeping friends and family informed as to our goings-on. And I just noticed that it’s been several days since I wrote in my blog. Why? Well, no good reason, really. “But it was so hooooootttttt“, I hear myself whine. So obviously, the hot weather was a good reason not to write – right? Hm.

Brought back down to earth with a bang recently, though. Someone I know very well is suffering right now, with very severe pain. We’re all hoping it will be diagnosed and cured quickly. But this person finds it too painful to type, and feels very isolated – so why don’t I just write something every day to brighten his day? I know he receives a feed from my blog, so there really is no excuse for me not to try harder.

And today. Our neighbors popped over this morning to talk funerals and death. Not just for no reason, but because someone we both know recently died in their sleep, and the rules of death in Spain are quite different – the paperwork and bureaucracy are incredible. Kenton and I have experienced this already, so had some knowledge to pass on.

But again, it makes you think. The guy was well under 60, and apparently in decent health. Here one second, gone the next. Very hard on those who cared about him, but he went in a way we’d all like to – at home, in his bed, on a summer day, with no pain.

And that’s all I have to say for today. As many people before have said, take a moment to think. Enjoy each day as if it were your last, because you just never know. And enjoy those you love, for the same reason!

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

Comments are closed.