…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

The squash patch is pretty scary!


I go on and on about vegetables. I have to hold my hand up to that one, I know I do it, and I know you get bored hearing about it!

But the incredible variety of vegetables that can be grown here amazes me. I know that holds true for most climates, but this is the first time in my life I’ve had the time and energy to grow all this!

And grow we do. I was examining the garden behind the house this evening. There, right now, we are growing: spinach, butternut squash, acorn squash, crookneck squash, delicata squash, zucchini, pumpkins, potimarrons, tarragon, parsley, lavender, curry leaves, borage and aloe. And that is only one of our gardens!

It overwhelms me sometimes. Of course, we don’t need all those vegetables for just the two of us! But we shared a crate of vegetables with a new customer last week. And then another crate with our friends on Sunday. Thursday, we’ll take crates to 2 more customers. (all townies, who have no access to land for growing their own)

Add to that, it’s “putting up” time of the year. I made a batch of salsa last week. Gazpacho on Saturday. Roasted vegetables for freezing today. They will go into soups and stews over the winter. Next will come the canning of tomatoes, making ketchup and pickles, sun-drying tomatoes.

It’s truly full-on harvest time at Casa Tyr. I know we work hard for the vegetables, with our weeding, feeding and watering, but I still can’t help but feel pretty humble when I look out the window and see our fabulous squash patch.

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

Comments are closed.