…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Beware the wolf!

2 Comments


One of the less desirable things about living in the countryside is the sheer numbers of snakes, spiders, bugs and other creepy crawlies that you see. As everyone who knows me will testify, I’ve never been a lover of many-legged wildlife, and nothing about that has changed!

You see all types of bugs here. I kind of like the hummingbird moths and the dung beetles – harmless and cute, in their own way. There is a huge black bee-type thing that I do not like. Nor do I like the long red and black bugs that you see in the summertime.

If there are any budding entomologists amongst my readers, I do apologize. Reading about “long red and black bugs” is probably not very enlightening, but believe me, I’ll never willingly become an expert on bugs!

There is an interesting, but rather intimidating, spider that lives in the countryside here – it’s called a “wolf spider”. It is pretty big, with a body about the size of my fingernail. And it has rather hairy legs. It’s pretty aggressive, too, and if cornered, will jump at you. I’ve heard that it bites, but I’ve never been close enough to find out.

We don’t usually see them in the house, except in autumn, when they try to escape the cooler weather. If I ever see one, it’s usually Kenton’s job to corner it, trap it in a glass, and release it outdoors.

Here’s what they look like, in terrifying close up! I think this is a lady variety, soon to lay her eggs in my lavender bush (the cheek!!).

Wolf Spider in Andalucia

Wolf spider at Casa Tyr (photo by Kenton@imagenary.co.uk)

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

2 thoughts on “Beware the wolf!

  1. Lizzie and i saw a hummingbird hawk moth in my flowers the other night. i didn’t have the heart to tell her it was actually a moth — she would have screamed and run then!

    Like

    • They are pretty cute, even if they are moths! I don’t like moths either, and remember “that night” in the Black Hills of our childhood all too well!

      Like