…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Hospitals – very unhealthy places!


I’ve never liked hospitals, but I don’t suppose I’m alone here. They are often sad, and to me, always smell funny. Maybe it’s the smell of worry, pain and sadness? Or maybe just disinfectant, who knows? But I don’t like them.

We visited a friend today, who only recently came out of hospital. We were delivering a big Lujos order to her, soaps and cream for her, a triple order of Lujos “Virgin soap” for her family. I first met this lady as a customer, but she has since become a good friend – I like that! (the lovely people I meet through Lujos are some of the nicest things about the business!!)

This lady went into the hospital (the best public hospital on the coast) for a fairly straightforward, but necessary, operation. She should have been in and out in a few days.

Instead she contracted MRSA. The massive infection took over a month to clear up, and even now she isn’t fully recovered. It took her 2 weeks or more just to be able to walk again. For me, and I’m sure for her family, too, it was a shocking example of how badly things can go wrong.

She’s better, now, and can walk, albeit carefully. She is still back and forth to the hospital for tests, as they suspect that the MRSA is still causing problems in her body.

So if I didn’t believe it before, I do now. Never go in for elective surgery. If you have a choice, stay out. If you don’t, choose your hospital carefully if you can. This doesn’t deal with emergencies, though — in those cases, I think you just have to hope you’re lucky enough to come out healthy.

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

Comments are closed.