…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Let the glut begin!

4 Comments


I absolutely adore summertime. I like the long, slow days. I like the incredibly bright sunshine and blue, cloudless skies. I even like the heat. OK, so I don’t like the flies and mosquitoes, but nothing is perfect, right?

In the summer, Casa Tyr really comes into her own. We always have a light breeze, so the nights cool down nicely for a good night’s sleep. In the evenings, we can sit out on the terrace and watch the lights on the coast flicker. Gorgeous.

I also like summer because we eat so well. Gone are the heavier meals of winter, when you are eating soups and stews. Back are the glory days of ripe tomatoes on toast for breakfast, salad sandwiches for lunch, and hugely veggie meals for dinner.

We barbecue a lot during the summer, too. Sometimes we have friends over (they love to come here to escape the heat in the village!!). Sometimes it’s just us two. We usually cook on a Sunday night for the whole week, because summer is also a busy time of painting, gardening, tidying, and so on!

We tried my recipe for a new chilled soup last night – cucumber soup. Please do try it, and try to use really fresh (i.e. not supermarket) veg and herbs as you can – it makes such a difference! For ours, everything came from our land except the stock.

Chilled cucumber soup

5 cucumbers, peeled and cut into small chunks
1 onion, diced
1 large potato, peeled and cut into small chunks4 garlic cloves, diced
1 T olive oil (Yunquera Gold, if possible)
1 T butter
750 ml liquid (half white wine, half fresh chicken stock)
1 tsp chopped fresh marjoram
1 tsp chopped fresh tarragon

Cook the vegetables (except potato) in the butter and oil until soft. Add the potato, liquid and herbs; cover and cook until the potato is soft. Leave to cool slightly, then mix with a stick blender until smooth. Salt and pepper to taste, and serve cool.

Summer at Casa Tyr

Summer at Casa Tyr (photo by Kenton@imagenary.co.uk)

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

4 thoughts on “Let the glut begin!

  1. Oh yum! This looks like the perfect summer meal. Super light and healthy. I’ll definitely be trying this. Thank you!

    Like

    • Anne-Marie, it is great on a hot summer night! Most recipes I’ve seen call for cream, but it is not needed here. It’s full of flavor, healthy, and not fattening, either!

      Like

  2. I have also been thinking this year about how there is nothing that I don’t like about summer. Warm days and nights, flowers everywhere, fresh local produce, less hectic shedule (kind of). I do think the change of seasons helps me enjoy it more, though.

    Like

    • hey little sis! I agree, as much as I love summer, I wouldn’t want to live anywhere where the seasons don’t change. Each season has its advantage, I just love the summer best! Unless it’s a lovely spring day, of course. Or a gorgeous autumn morning!

      Like