…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Woo hoo! Another Lujos speech!


OK, I know I told you that I was nervous about the speech we will be giving next week. And no, I’m not telling you the date and location, just in case all my blog friends decide to up sticks and come have a listen! 🙂

And now? Another group, this time on the coast, has asked us to speak. Not until autumn though, which gives me loads of time to get nervous!

I never really thought that our lives had been all that interesting. Sure, we enjoy it, but why would anyone else care? Well, I guess they do, given the evidence of groups clamoring to hear us speak. Well, maybe “clamoring” is a bit of an overstatement – it’s only the second group that has asked! But hey, you have to start somewhere right?

People like to hear why and how an American girl  came to live in Europe. They like to hear about how we ended up in Spain, living on an olive farm. Making soap and creams. Why we left the “good life” of bigger house, nice cars, and travel for the Good Life of fresh air, fresh vegetables, and hard work!

They like to hear about Lujos, too. Why we started the business. The 2 years of research to find and modify recipes. The beliefs behind the company. And, of course, they like to try a few samples!

So hey, this will be speech number 2. Maybe one day, I’ll be the next Jo Malone, head of a huge company making gorgeous products that sell for a bomb! I’ll be rich! Rich, I tell you, rich!

Whoa, girl! Hold on. No. That won’t be us, never will. A customer recently said “please don’t get so big that you forget about your loyal customers”. And I know what she means by that – the easy familiarity of meeting customers and becoming friends. Making special formulations for customers. Helping them and giving advice when I can.

That’s a big part of my enjoyment in what I do, so why would I ever want to change that?!

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

Comments are closed.