…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Lujos chemistry


I’m at it again, folks! Yes, that’s right. Every now and then my feverish little brain turns to new scents and products. (It happens a lot, actually, but I try to restrain myself!!)

So I’ve had a bout of ordering lately – new essential oils to blend together for soaps, creams and other products. I think the first will be a new scent, suggested by husband Kenton – a sexy new Lujos sandalwood & fresh lime scent. It sounds like something I’d use myself, but maybe I’ll reserve it for the men’s products – I haven’t decided yet!

I’m also thinking of producing a new product, made especially for the summer months when we’re all out gardening and weeding and generally just outdoors all the time!

It’s inspired by my own need for a new product! I’m at that “certain age” where oftentimes parts of my body that I have overworked get a bit sore and bruised. Like, for example, my forearm, when I’ve been typing on the computer too long. Or weeding too long. Or using my stick blender making Lujos creams too long! You get the idea.

So the idea is for a balm that can be rubbed into my sore arms, for example. I can’t give you the exact formula, it’s top secret!  But it will certainly contain arnica. Do you know how wonderful this flower is? Arnica grows wild in mountainous areas of North America and Europe. It is also known as Leopardsbane, Mountain Arnica, Mountain Tobacco, and Wolfsbane. It has been used for centuries for edema (fluid retention) and swelling, bruises, cuts, arthritis, sore muscles and joints, sore throats, swollen insect bites, and phlebitis. In short, WOW!

Arnica is usually infused in a carrier oil for use, and I just bet you can imagine what oil we will be using – our own Yunquera Gold olive oil! We’ll then combine this with other ingredients, to make a lovely, soothing, healing balm.

I’ll let you know when the new scent is ready, and when the new balm is up for sale. But both require a lot of finesse and testing first. So watch this space!

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

Comments are closed.