…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

The Casa Tyr gourmet club


I come from a family that enjoys their food. At reunions, we always joke that we are planning the next meal while eating this one!

I couldn’t have married someone who didn’t also value good food. So I didn’t – Kenton is as passionate about good food as I am. It’s not about rich food for me, it’s quality ingredients, well-prepared food and so on.

That’s why I get so hot under the collar when I read about E. coli contamination in tomatoes and peppers. Why I rail against battery chicken farming and antibiotics in cattle food. We just don’t need to do that to our food. We know better now.

Well, we do pretty well at Casa Tyr, I think. We grow most of our own vegetables, from asparagus in the spring to tomatoes and chillies in the summer, to squash and okra in the autumn, and right through to cabbage and broccoli in the winter. We don’t always have enough of everything to freeze or preserve them, but while they are in season, we gorge on great vegetables.

This leads us to some interesting recipes. For example, this year we’ve had quite small cauliflowers, due to all the rain. So we pick them young, cut them into small florets, and cook lightly with garlic, onion, and my own canned cherry tomatoes. Then I chop in a few of our sun-dried tomatoes. Heaven.

The asparagus has been terrific this year (the up side of all the rain!!). So we’ve had several of Kenton’s special thin asparagus omelets, which has chopped fresh asparagus, garlic, onion and egg, cooked in a large pan so the omelet is very thin.

And last night, we had another favorite. Grilled asparagus, with a fried egg on top, sprinkled with Parmesan. That was dinner, along with some crusty bread.

As my mother used to say, “we eat like kings”. And I know what she meant by that.

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

Comments are closed.