…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Lotions and potions and serums and soap


A new Lujos newsletter was winging its way around the world yesterday!

I had been asked by several customers what the big deal was with serums. Face serums and under eye serums, to be specific – all the rage now, and with a high price tag to boot.

So what is the big deal? Well, my research showed that they are really quite nice! As good as face creams can be for moisturizing your face, serums can be for giving  your skin that extra “boost”.

So I decided to give them a try. I made a serum for dry/mature skin for myself, despite my tender years! 🙂 And I made a post-shave skin soothing serum for Kenton to use. (He has a heavy beard, but very sensitive skin, easily irritated by shaving)

First, let’s look at serums from the man’s point of view. Kenton wet his face, then lathered up using Lujos shaving soap (not launched yet, but soon will be!). He shaved as usual, then put about 8-10 drops of the skin soothing serum in his hands, which he then massaged lightly into his skin. The results were astounding! No more irritation around his face, no rash. Just nice skin. And the most surprising thing? His face was not at all oily, the serum sank in almost immediately! (which is good, because if that were the case, he’d never use it!!)

I scented his serum with eucalyptus and cedarwood essential oils – very manly and sexy! Yum yum.

Now me! My own serum was for dry or mature skin – a combination of several wonderful oils, including evening primrose and our own Yunquera Gold olive oil. I like a light scent, so I added a few drops of white grapefruit essential oil. I put a few drops in my hand, then massaged into my face and neck. I couldn’t believe how fast the oil was absorbed – no greasiness or oiliness to be found! Another hit here.

So our conclusion is: serums are wonderful! Be on the lookout for Lujos serums for men and women soon, your face will love you for it!

And I just wanted to say also that we are using the new Vanilla & Patchouli soap in the shower. It’s super scrummy, with loads of lather and a sensual scent!

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

Comments are closed.