…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Valentine’s Day lament

2 Comments


If you live in the western world, you are probably well aware that it is Valentine’s Day tomorrow.

How could you not be? It’s everywhere – on the television, in the magazines and newspapers. Even in Yunquera, where Hallmark holidays are usually low key, there is a huge Valentine’s Day buzz. Every restaurant  has a special couples’ menu. Every store or bakery has special cakes.

I was accosted in the supermarket by the owner’s wife this morning. “Buy one of these cakes for Kenton for Valentine’s” she demanded, “show him you love him”. I told her that I did, in fact, love Kenton, but I wouldn’t buy him a cake. It would only make him fat, I said. The woman looked skeptical.

It’s always annoyed me, this VD frenzy (as Valentine’s Day was called in last night’s episode of Modern Family). For affection to be proscribed. For buying a gift to be mandatory – or if you don’t, it’s assumed that you don’t care enough. For those who are single to feel bad just because it’s February 14th.

Well, I do care about the ones I love. But I don’t do the VD thing (see, isn’t it a hoot to shorten it?). Never have, never will. I think about them and love them on a day-to-day basis, not once a year when I’m told to do so.

So there, Hallmark!

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

2 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day lament

  1. I am not into the commercialized holidays.

    Love happens every day. It doesn’t take a box of chocolates, or a red heart, or a diamond pendant. Love is genuine. It comes from those that surround us, and it does not require a show.

    Like