…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Village conversations


I was in town today doing loads of errands, like posting Lujos parcels, picking up the post, and so on.

I also was having my eyelashes and eyebrows tinted. This is a once a month thing, with the benefit that I don’t need to wear mascara – this is a good thing! I have very pale skin, eyes and brows, so if I don’t tint them, I have very little colour to my face.

Anyway, my nice lady at the salon, Ana Maria, always makes my brows look pretty drastic. They fade after a few days to look really nice, luckily! But for the first few days, when you look at me, all you see is EYEBROWS!! I have told  her several times that I really need a brown tint, all to no avail. Black is what she wants to use, so black I must have. After she finishes, she looks at me with satisfaction and says “now, you have expression, Ana!”

But I digress. We were chatting away this morning about what life used to be like in Yunquera. There used to be lots more rain and snow, she says. There would be snow on the mountains until the summer. So much snow that her grandfather used to collect snow from the mountains, store it under straw, and then take it down to the coast by mule, so he could bring back a load of fish to sell in the village. This was quite common. She says he also used to take figs and pomegranates to Granada (by mule) to sell there. Think about it – Granada is a two-hour car journey from here, and they used to mule produce there from Yunquera!

There wasn’t a road into Yunquera until 1955 – so until then, all items had to be taken in or out of the village by mule or by hand. As a result, Yunquera has always been pretty self-sufficient, even growing their own wheat for bread.

Now, people live in the village and commute to work on the coast. As Ana Maria and I agreed, life has certainly changed.

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

Comments are closed.