…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Old friends

1 Comment


I’ve never been the kind of person to have very many good friends. Only a few. But then, I wonder, is it even possible to have lots of truly good friends? Would that not still distill into good friends/acquaintances? Maybe not for everyone, but certainly for me.

Anyhoo. I have a friend in my home town who has been a great good friend for…well…almost forever. I didn’t meet her when I lived in Sioux Falls – I met her at college, oddly enough. She has always been a steadfast presence in my life, and when we do manage to meet up, it’s like we never had separated. I love that.

I have another good friend in England. I met her over 20 years ago during a really hard time in our lives. We’ve been through loads together – her divorce, my moving, her moving, kids growing up, the lot. And just as with my US friend, she is always there for me. I could tell her anything. She’d say “yeeessss……” in that slow, skeptical way of hers, then we’d likely laugh and sort it out. Or not.

The reason I’m telling you this is that I just re-connected with another old friend from college. I don’t know how we lost touch – it just seemed to happen. But out of the blue, and for no apparent reason, I decided to check out classmates.com. I don’t rate that site, it’s slow, cumbersome to use, and charges for almost everything. But check it I did, and there was Jane’s message from last summer, asking to get in touch. Welcome back into my life, Jane!

And there’s the happy ending to the story, folks!

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

One thought on “Old friends

  1. Ann, close friends are hard to come by. I am more of a quiet type of person myself. I enjoy home. But I also enjoy going to town and whipping up conversations like crazy.

    But a close friend, one that a person can trust, one that loves us unconditionally is very difficult to find, and priceless.

    I recently re-connected with co-workers, and my boss. I understand you perfectly on the old firend connection, they are precious to me, and it brightened my day, and is still a bit of sunshine in my life!

    Like