…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Three Kings celebrations


It’s a big holiday in Spain today – Los Tres Reyes, or the Three Kings. I’m sure you realise that I’m not a religious person, but as far as I can figure out from my hazy days of Sunday School, it is to celebrate the visit of the Three Wise Men, bringing gifts to the baby Jesus. I’m sure my family will correct me if I’m wrong on that!

Whatever the reason, it is bigger than Christmas here, at least for the children, because it’s the day they receive gifts. In the town square, they receive gifts from one of the three ‘kings’, and at home they open gifts from family. (In Yunquera, it’s rare that adults exchange gifts, it’s strictly an activity for children.)

Kenton and I headed out to enjoy the festivities. There was a light rain, but that didn’t spoil any of the fun! Everyone seemed to join in as sweets were thrown, gifts were given, and the municipal band played.

Today, everything is closed for the holiday, and most families will be having yet another huge family dinner. And tomorrow? Christmas is over, time to go back to work!

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

Comments are closed.