…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Rain in December

2 Comments


If you grow up in South Dakota, as I did, then you are pretty used to getting the expected weather at the expected times of year.

Is it summer? Well, the weather will be hot, and probably humid. Autumn?  Chilly and the leaves fall from the trees. Winter? Cold, for sure, and probably snow. You do not get rain in winter, but it’s possible in the other 3 seasons.

When I lived in the UK, I gradually became used to the fact that it could be rainy, sunny, cloudy, cold or hot at any given time of the year. Hence you could never really tell by the weather what season it was. That was weird.

Here in Spain, it’s less certain, at least in wintertime. It’s raining today, but some years it has snowed instead. I find that very confusing – rain in December simply does not make sense to me! And it is sooooo not Christmas-y!!

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

2 thoughts on “Rain in December

  1. What is that old saying about the rain in spain? I cannot remember it!

    I remember a lot of snow when I was a child in Indiana, yet, I think things seem bigger when we are children. Who knows!

    Have a wonderful day…and I hope the rain stops for your Christmas.

    Like

    • The quote is from the musical “My Fair Lady” – “The rain in Spain stays mainly on the plain” !!! They don’t mention us in the mountains who still get rain!

      Like