…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Thanksgiving, the day after

3 Comments


It will come to no surprise to you guys that it was Thanksgiving yesterday! Did everyone eat loads of turkey, then watch the football?

I didn’t. Even though I haven’t lived in the US for years, I have almost always still had a big Thanksgiving dinner. It has always been my way of making sure that daughter Peggy still felt a part of that great American tradition, and also a good excuse to get friends together. And I love to cook!

This is only the second time I have missed doing that. The first was the year that my mother and Kenton’s father died. I just didn’t have the heart for it. This year was only because we are chocka in the middle of olive tree work, plus most of my friends here were unable to make it. So it wasn’t a sad reason, just life!

But I thought I’d share some Thanksgiving memories with you:

  • Peggy’s first real Thanksgiving. In Virginia. She was too young to eat much of the dinner, but enjoyed chewing bits off a turkey leg bone! (sorry, Peg, but it is a cute story!!)
  • Sweet potatoes with marshmallows. A Larson tradition, too sweet for me, but daughter and father-in-law always loved them!
  • The Eddy Pizzy evening. At the first big Thanksgivings after moving to the countryside, a friend of mine dropped into the conversation, after about 30 minutes of reminiscing about the guy, that a family friend of the Smiths was actually dead, and had been for years. This may sound tragic, but it was actually a hilarious moment. Well, maybe only in retrospect!
  • My pumpkin pies (1). When I moved to the UK, I couldn’t find canned pumpkin, so I started my own tradition of growing and using fresh pumpkin in my pies. This really impressed my mom!
  • My pumpkin pies (2). When I was much younger, I made the pies for the family Thanksgiving dinner. I accidentally doubled the salt in the crust, making the whole thing inedible. This did not impress my mom!
  • My first Thanksgiving in Spain. Daughter Peggy and niece Tayler come for Thanksgiving, plus Kenton’s parents and some friends. It was a lovely evening, which ended in pushing the table back so we could dance – until 4 in the morning! Manuel showed up at 8:30 that same morning, and banged on the window blinds with a metal bar until we let him in. He made us work, then cooked us lunch. Lovely, but still torture after so little sleep!

…and many more, of course, too many to mention. Enjoy your day after Thankgiving, everyone!

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

3 thoughts on “Thanksgiving, the day after

  1. Those are great memories!

    My husband is in bed with his gall bladder acting up today. Not funny…but shows he enjoyed his meal.

    Glad to be back on track this morning. I have been rather non-traditional for several years. Enjoy the thankfulness, that is my favorite part…absolutely get caught up in it. But the rest…I enjoy my day to day life.

    Like

  2. * Peggy’s first real Thanksgiving. In Virginia.
    Don’t remember that one!
    * Sweet potatoes with marshmallows.
    Everyone else hated them for years, then all started liking them.so we had to share. Brian and I were so annoyed!
    * The Eddy Pizzy evening.
    A Paton moment!
    * My pumpkin pies (1).
    You did? Wow! I remember you making them and nobody really knowing to make of the taste!
    * My pumpkin pies (2).
    Luckily your cooking has improved since then!
    * My first Thanksgiving in Spain.
    Well, most of us were dancing, apart from some miserable members of the family! I think Manuel made Kenton go and work, I don’t remember you, Tayler (or m) working! I do remember lunch though, of course!

    *Shelly giving her kids sweets (fruit pastels) even though they wouldn’t eat dinner

    *Me always being allowed to have a friend come over when we were in the UK. Every friend I had over always fancied Cameron!

    Like