…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Loneliness


Do you ever have times when you absolutely ache for your family? Your daughter/son/grandchildren live too far away? Your brothers/sisters/cousins are thousands of miles away? Yeah, you know what I mean, I know you do.

I’m usually OK with this. I’ve lived away from family ever since I was 20 years old. It was hard at times, but made me a very strong and independent woman, I think.

I’ve even lived a country away from my daughter for 6 years. This was, and always is, hard. I still try to think ways to live in the same town as she does, but so far neither one of us can manage that.

The locals would never think of living so far away from family. Family is central to Spanish life, at least here it is. Having a son or daughter live in Malaga (an hour away) is very painful – they can’t even imagine why I live so far away from my family! They always ask when our daughter is moving here.

I know I’m thinking this way because SMS messaging between our daughter and us has ceased working for some reason. We can text her, but she can’t text us. No idea what the problem is, but it makes us all feel very cut off from each other.

What, don’t you have email/Skype/Facebook/Twitter? Oh yeah. Forgot. Get a grip, Ann!

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

Comments are closed.