…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Autumn approaches


Until last week, I was feeling pretty smug. We had had a really nice, long, hot summer. Just what I wanted, in fact, because the winter had been long and cold, and we had had virtually no spring. So I really did enjoy the heat.

I was also hoping we would have a long Indian summer. (why do they call it that, anyway?) It’s not looking like it, though. Last week was cool and cloudy and windy. Autumnal, one might say.

Today started out lovely and bright, so I was all set to dismiss the forecaster’s dire warnings of thunderstorms and showers. You spoke too soon, missy! Come 1 pm and I heard thunder in the distance. So I got the laundry off the line. Half an hour later, thunder overhead, heavy rain and …. hail! Oh no!

The storm has passed over now, and the air has that lovely, pine-y, ozone-y scent to it that I love about summer rains. And it’s sunny and warm again. But I know in my heart that summer will soon be a distant memory. <sigh>

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

Comments are closed.