…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

More Lujos!


I decided last week that I needed to find a recipe for a new face cream for the Lujos site.

There wasn’t anything wrong with the cream we are producing now, I just found it to be a little bit complex for our purposes. I like the “simple is best” route. And I also wanted to use our Yunquera Gold olive oil in every single one of our products, if possible, and the original cream didn’t contain any olive oil. Not a huge issue, but hey, worth trying a new recipe!

I found 3 recipes. Recipe 1 was very simple, with only 4 ingredients. Recipe 2 used e-wax as a thickener/emulsifier. And Recipe 3 used beeswax as a thickener/emulsifier. All were fairly easy to produce and all contained olive oil

My husband is one of my product testers. I am, too, as is our daughter. We are not going to sell anything that we haven’t tried ourselves. Nor will we sell anything that we don’t really love to use ourselves. How can you go wrong with a policy like that?

The verdict? Watch this space – but it looks like recipes 2 & 3 are tied in first place so far!

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

Comments are closed.