…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Butterflies at Casa Tyr


I don’t consider myself a lover of flying wildlife, but I do like butterflies. But I don’t like moths. My sisters will well remember, I’m sure, one memorable vacation in the Black Hills of South Dakota when moths gathered in our cabin after someone left a light on and the window open. Hundreds of the things were in the room, and we girls wouldn’t go in until my mom and dad shooed them all out. That must have been quite a sight – my parents, tired and grumpy after a long day with 5 kids in tow, flapping around in a room shooing moths out!

We have some absolutely gorgeous butterflies here on our mountain. Just yesterday, we were sitting on our terrace after some lunch guests had gone home, and saw several gorgeous butterflies. One was small and bright yellow, and the other was quite large, striped with a kind of dangly tail of some sort (see, you can tell I’m good at this wildlife description stuff!).

Luckily, I had my trusty site photographer to hand. He took a beautiful photo of the thing – which isn’t easy, given the random flight of butterflies. After discussion with my sister Nancy, I believe it might be a ‘Scarce Swallowtail’, but I’m happy to be corrected on that!

Enjoy.

Butterfly at Casa Tyr (photo by Kenton @ imagenary.co.uk)

Butterfly at Casa Tyr (photo by Kenton @ imagenary.co.uk)

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

Comments are closed.