…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Time


Today is the last day of July, but I suppose you know that already! Wherever does the time go?

My mom used to say

the older you get the faster time goes

which sounded absolutely ridiculous to me when I was a young girl, but now it makes absolute sense.

For example, I looked forward to my family reunion for months and months. And it’s over in a flash. That was a month ago, yet already it’s almost August.

I looked forward to summer for ages, too, and you know that once August arrives, autumn is not far behind.

Christmas 2008 was just a minute ago, and yet Christmas 2009 is the blink of an eye away.

I guess the passing of time has really been on my mind this week. The brother of my good friend died last week – only 59, from an unknown cause. A friend of my friend in the village died early this week. She had found out she had cancer in June, and come the end of July, gone. Life is pretty ephemeral.

I don’t mean to get anyone down by this entry, and I don’t feel down myself, to be honest. It’s just that sometimes it hits you that yes, you are getting older, and yes, time seems to pass at a faster rate every year.

So, enjoy life. Don’t wait. This is not a dress rehearsal, it’s the main event (thanks, Rose Tremain).

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

Comments are closed.