…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

A brit pub in Minneapolis

2 Comments


My brother Dick and I went on a pub crawl last night with the ‘young people’.  No one else in the family of the brothers and sisters wanted to  come along, but no one was surprised when Dick and I did!

The first pub was (I think it was called) Brit Pub. It was just as it sounds. Lawn bowls on offer, plus a range of British beers, American style. I had a pint of Old Speckled Hen, which is a very nice, traditional English beer.

Here, though, it was served American style. That meant cold. Very cold. And with a head on the top, not exactly fizzy but in the Boddington style, which I believe is called “smooth flow” or some such nonsense.

Now, I can appreciate that many people around the world enjoy English beers. But hey – why not enjoy them the way they are meant to be? They are soooo much better if served the way god intended!

And I won’t comment (much) on the Irish bar we went to for dinner, complete with manager with fake Irish accent! It was good food, though, and good beer. But why is the Irish bar format so popular around the world? I can’t figure that out.

More from your traveling reporter later….today it’s Macys for a makeover (!), then shopping. Again.

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

2 thoughts on “A brit pub in Minneapolis

  1. It is a known fact that there are actually more Irish bars in the world than there are Irish people !

    Like

  2. I can say that I have officially found and read your blog, Ann! It was great to see you all this weekend and to enjoy a pint of beer on the pub crawl! We had a fun and successful reunion. It was rather “uneventful” compared to Chicago, though. Only Peggy can smile:) Any talk of the location for the next one in 2 years? Safe travels to NY!

    Like