…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Planting plants

2 Comments


Plants, plants and more plants have been planted out today.

It was a rather overcast, cool day, so perfect for the tender young plants. First job – dig about 1/3 of our potato crop – from that, we obtained 2 sacks of small, new potatoes, and  1 1/2 crates of larger potatoes. We were very impressed with the quality and size of the potatoes! And how do they come out of the soil so clean? I don’t get it.

You may remember that we planted loads of seed potatoes way back when. We will share our bounty with our friends in town, and with Kenton’s family. In tough times, little things like that help.

Next job – rotovate the potato area, and plant out our cucumber and zucchini plants in that space. I had vowed after last  year not to plant so many cukes, as we were absolutely overrun with the things. What did I then do? Plant about 25 seeds, and the bloody things all came up! Hopefully our friends really really like cucumbers!

On to planting the zucchini. We realize that we should  only have planted 1 plant, as we really don’t like zucchini all that well. Planted 12 instead. Good plan.

On to the bottom garden, all fence in and rotovated, and with a lovely irrigation system. Plant out loads of sugar baby melons, a pumpkin, 5 types of squash (butternut, crookneck, patty pan, acorn and one whose name I forget!). Then plant out okra. (an Indian restaurant on the coast wants to buy it from us). Then plant out sweet corn, about 70 plants.

Then water the new plants. Then go into town to get some groceries, buy dog food, deliver veg to Kenton’s family, check on my picture framing. Then come home and do the dishes, get the laundry off the line and feed the dogs.

I confess to being absolutely knackered!

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

2 thoughts on “Planting plants

  1. I wish I could help! I like gardening more every year.

    I can relate to the cucumber story. I like tomatoes, so this year I tried an experiment of planting the seeds instead of buying small plants. All of the seeds grew, and I had 50 plants. I can’t keep up with 6 plants when they start coming ripe. So I planted 15 in several areas (another experiment), have given away about 20, and will plant the rest somewhere next weekend if I can’t give them away.

    Like

    • So funny!

      It is so scary how your ‘experiment’ is like mine! We, too, are trying planting things in different areas, to see where they grow the best!

      If your plants really produce, I see canning in your future come August!

      Like