…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Did I mention cherries?


Cherries, cherries, and more cherries.

We still have had only 2 trees ripen so far, and today I think today we finally cleared the last of the cherries (leaving some for the birds, of course). You have read about how many we’ve picked and how many we’ve given away and how many we’ve eaten ourselves, right?

Well, we picked 2 last big buckets today. And a crate full on Thursday. This is the depressing part of the glut, though. I really enjoy giving cherries to friends who come ‘pick their own’. But we are now to the sad stage where we are giving them away to some of the more useless expats in town, simply because we have too many.

Will these fu**wits come up here to pick their own, free cherries? Will they heck. No, they do deign to take them, but they want them picked and delivered to their door. They don’t even return the buckets and crates to us.

Pardon me if I seem a little bit critical of our compatriots. But this attitude drives me nuts – I think if people are kind enough to offer produce, you should at least have the grace to pick it  up from them.

I know, I know, we don’t have to give the cherries away to people like that. But if we don’t, they just go to waste, which is even worse. At least that’s what we tell ourselves…

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

Comments are closed.