…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Me ‘n my girl

2 Comments


We mothers don’t talk enough about our daughters. Or if we do as they are growing up, we sometimes forget to continue as they grow older.

I think about this because it was recently American mother’s day. I say “American mother’s day” because it is celebrated on a different date in England, where I spent most of my adult life. It is celebrated in March – so I always received a card from my daughter Peggy in March, but had to remember to buy a card for my mother at that time, and then remember to send it in time for American mother’s day in May! It was complicated. I wish I still had a reason to buy my mother a card, though.

So Mother’s Day is to celebrate our mothers, and all the work and hard times they went through to raise us. But we should also take some time to remember our daughters (I’d say sons, too, if I had one!).

My daughter is (usually!) lovely. She is kind, considerate, bright, funny. Most of the time. Sometimes she drives me crazy, too, but I consider myself very lucky to be her mother, and to also count her as my friend. We talk about intimate things that I could never talk about with my mother, but then times have changed. We both have a love affair with Boots the Chemist, and have literally lost hours in their stores!

I’m thinking especially of her today for two reasons. One, we had friends over for a barbecue yesterday, and I just wished she could have joined us. We always try to talk her into moving to Spain, but I do realize that is unrealistic for her.

The other reason I’m thinking of her today is illustrated in the picture below. I took the photo because my friend Jenny brought lilies from her garden for me, and they were so beautiful I had to take a photo. In looking at the photo just now, I noticed the picture of Peggy and me on the desk, enjoying a birthday celebration.

If you look closely, there is also a very small picture of Peggy, taken when she was about 6. She’s hugging her best friend of the moment, and it’s one of my favorite childhood photos.

If you’re reading this, Peg – hi, <hug> and I miss you!

Lillies, Peg and me

Lillies, Peg and me

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

2 thoughts on “Me ‘n my girl

  1. I didn’t read that yesterday due to a long old day at work. I read it just now and you’ve made me well up with tears, for the second time in a week before I start work.

    That’s a lovely post mmy, for a second I thought you were going to stop talking about me, when you went onto mums in general, then you went back to me, good good!

    Love you too
    xx

    Like