…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Life goes on


As the saying goes, “Life – love it or loathe it, you can’t like it”!

My last entry was all about the death of our good friend Miguel. The hardest thing about someone you love dying, in my opinion, is not the death itself and the day of the funeral (hard enough though they are). It is waking up the next day, and the day after, and the day after that – knowing that that person is forever absent in your life, and you will never see them again. That is the hardest part for me – it was true after my father and mother died, and after my father-in-law died.

There is no getting around it, it’s tough. Living in the countryside, however, does give one a slightly bigger perspective on things – animals are born, and they die; the harvest carries on; a baby is baptized on the day your friend dies. You can even see that your grief is only a small part in the scheme of life.

I’m not being maudlin, honest. Manuel says “it’s life, what can you do?”, and he’s right. I sometimes wish I believed in a ‘next life’, but my suspicion is that people just believe it because it makes them feel better. My opinion? This is it. It’s your life, there is no more. You’re born, you die. Do the best you can with it.

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

Comments are closed.