…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Weeding (again)

2 Comments


Why, oh why, do weeds grow so much faster than plants do? I know I moan about this all the time, but after weeding the top garden last week, and the bottom (one of) garden this week, I’m sick of it!

I think the rain, followed by sun, was the big culprit. Til then, I reckon I was keeping on top of the weeds, but after a day of spring rain, they came out full force. Even the areas we had sprayed with herbicide had weeds (I know, awful stuff, but we do use it in some places). I don’t know how that happens, it shouldn’t be possible!

The weed of the moment is one we call ‘stink weed’ for obvious reasons. It has the worst, kind of fishy, smell to it, that clings to your hand even after washing them. The dogs love to roll in it, again, for obvious reasons!

Anyway, after a tiring day weeding, I think it’s time for a shower, then watching Arsenal – ManU in the second leg of the Champion’s League.

Go you gooners!

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

2 thoughts on “Weeding (again)

  1. Solution — do away with rain and sun, then no more weeds.

    I Think I mentioned that I actually enjoy weeding. I try to put in my brain some annoying problem while I am weeding, and the weeding goes fast and sometimes I find a solution to the problem too. I may have time for an hour of weeding tonight (not usually possible during the work week), and I’m looking forward to it!

    Like

    • You are nuts! I can’t say I hate weeding, it’s a necessary evil when you have vegetables and/or flowers.

      We have 3 gardens so far, with another soon, so weeding figures largely in my routine!

      Like