…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Newspapers

2 Comments


I finally found out today what most newspapers are really good for  – cleaning windows!

I had read years ago that newpaper was much better for cleaning windows than paper towels are. I think I read it in an Erma Bombeck column (she was one of my mother’s favorite columnists). Erma was full of really good hints and tips, and wrote very humorously on most subjects. I think most women could really relate to her stories! RIP, Erma.

Back to the windows. You probably read that we are expecting house guests this week. Now, it’s not that I think my nephew will roam around the house looking for dust bunnies, but having guests is a good motivator for getting things done that should have been done ages ago!

Like windows. Unlike my mother, whose windows (and house) were always spotless, mine aren’t. Luckily, living in the ‘campo’ with ever-present dust around, I have a good excuse for dingy windows, but they finally reached even my limit. Wind-driven dust and rain spots on the outside. Yuk!

It took me 2 hours to wash all the windows in the house, and we only have a 2 bedroom house! My mother would have been horrified.

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

2 thoughts on “Newspapers

  1. I like newspapers too but I always use gloves or they dry out my skin terribly.

    I’m looking forward to tomorrow’s topic on your blog — the wonders of Magic Eraser? Has this recent Mr. Clean product reached Spain? If you haven’t tried it, you should!

    Like

    • Ohmigod, just looked up Magic Eraser on the web! Sounds like a miracle! LOL. No, hasn’t reached Spain yet, but I can order online!

      Like