…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Dandelions – friend or foe?

2 Comments


Kenton took some lovely photos of dandelions yesterday. It’s a good thing, too, as it’s windy today, so the little fluffy heads will have blown off by now! He has tried to photograph them before – but every time he tried, Fitz and Milo would run up to see what he was doing, and blow the fluffy head off!

Anyway, I was reminded of the “weeding lesson” of my childhood. My mother used to give each of us chores to do outdoors in the summertime, according to our age. My older sister and I would dig weeds and pick up sticks before mowing. Oldest brother would mow the lawn. Little sister was too little, and my other brother was asthmatic, so couldn’t do outdoors chores. (Wait a minute, am I now sure he was asthmatic, or was it just a clever ploy to get out of chores?! Hm…)

I’m sure I’ve told you this before – but one day I cleverly decided to cut off the heads of the weeds, rather than dig them out. I guess my logic was that my mother wouldn’t see the dandelion tops, so would think I had actually done the job properly. No such luck – she figured it out straightaway, and made me go out again and dig out the now topless dandelions. Much harder than doing it right in the first place!

Did I learn a lesson from this? Yes – my mother was much smarter than I gave her credit for!

Dandelion (photo by Kenton Smith)

Dandelion (photo by Kenton Smith)

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

2 thoughts on “Dandelions – friend or foe?

  1. If only it would stop snowing, raining and blowing I might get some weeding done too. Maybe. Or house cleaning. Maybe. Now that I FINALLY pestered the kids into finishing their Christmas thank-yous.

    Like

    • Hm, not sure you can really legitimately not do housework when the weather is bad! Oh yes, that’s right – you need to open the windows so the floors can dry after you have mopped and waxed them, hence you need a really nice warm day to clean!

      Like