…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Spring flowers

2 Comments


I’m knackered! And pretty much started the day not wanting to do a damn thing! Woke up in the night with spasms in my lower back, so didn’t really feel like doing much of anything.

A couple of Nurofen Plus later, I was feeling a bit better, so down to the forest we went. Yes, you got it – more cutting, burning, etc. We have now cut and logged 28 trees, which is good going for just two of us, I think.

The last tree Kenton cut fell awkwardly, into the forest, so he had to clamber up steep rocks to cut the branches off. He thought it would have been really handy to have a younger, maybe more limber person here to do that, perhaps nephew Michael when he comes to visit in a few weeks! Hm…good idea…I’m sure Michael said he would be happy to help us do anything!

After lunch, I planted about 35 broccoli plants that I grew from seed in the greenhouse. Lots of our other plants are now up – peas, green beans, potatoes. I love this time of year!

I took some photos yesterday of our flowers – they look so lovely in spring!

Manuel calls these "winter flowers" !

Manuel calls these "winter flowers" !

Sunflowers

Sunflowers

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

2 thoughts on “Spring flowers

  1. Ah the back spasms — another sign that everything is downhill from here, at least physically. Good thing I am so smart now, to make up for it . My kids would disagree though, since they know everything now.

    The gardening is good for curing the backache, at least initially, though.

    Like

    • Actually, I first hurt my back about 10 years ago, when I was working in the office, and bent down funny! It bothers me now and again, but is usually ok now. Doing less sitting, and more walking around helps!

      Like