…the prodigal returns

Back where we came from, reluctant returnees.

Sacab Coin horse show

7 Comments


Yesterday we took a day off to attend the “Sacab Coin” horse show in Coin (about 40 minutes away).

This is one of the largest horse breeder shows in Spain for the “PRE” (Pura Raza Española, or Purebred Spanish Horse). Hundreds of horses and the best breeders from all over Spain converge on the town, where showing classes and riding competitions take place. An evening show is held each night, with spectacular dressage competitions. It is really fair-like, in that in addition to trade stands and breeders information desks, there are booths selling Andalucian food and craft items, plus lots of wonderful food stalls!

Andalucian horses are one of the most ancient breeds, and are the ancestors of many modern breeds of horse. They are known for their courage and loyal nature, and are apparently wonderfully easy to ride. They are extremely valuable, each one worth tens of thousands of euros!

Take a look at the video – it is worth sitting through the 2 minutes, I think!

Author: Ann Larson

One-time IT executive who lives on a 22 acre olive farm in Spain with husband Kenton and 2 boxer dogs. We make Yunquera Gold olive oil, and soap and skincare products from same. We aim to make natural, fresh, and handmade products at affordable prices!

7 thoughts on “Sacab Coin horse show

  1. This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

    Like

  2. I thought I was in for adult-only commentary when my sister said, “You can tell they are stallions because. . . .”

    Like

    • LOL, how funny! So not expecting the “long mane and tail” comment!

      I do remember asking some embarrassing questions at a horse show that you were participating in, but I am (almost) past that now!

      Like

  3. You – almost past asking embarrassing questions ? Never. You don’t point and giggle nearly so much these days though !

    Like

  4. I am also reminded of the time Ann and I visited my sister-in-law Marilyn’s parents’ farm in Minnesota. I asked my big sister, what is the difference between a bull and a steer? She very seriously told me that a steer was a young bull, and set off hysterics in Marilyn’s brother — was it John?

    Like